I’m… being social(ly awkward)?

Okaaaaaay so… I’ve ended up going to the cinema then out to dinner with a friend of mine tonight. You’ll probably be thinking, ‘why’s she writing about that?‘ Or something along those lines because it’s a perfectly normal thing to do, right?

Well, let me say a few things about my friend.

1. He’s- (yes, wow, it’s a he)- a friend of LSFSBoaG’s who will talk to me for hoooouuuurrrsss on Skype or whatever, but I’ve only actually spoken to him a few times in real life.

2. Je ne suis pas ‘interested’ in him. Purely friends, okay?

3. He’s paying. (Is that like, just a date thing? Or is that just like, social etiquette for boys to do that when going somewhere with a friend who happens to be a girl?)

4. He has a girlfriend.

5. Who’s actually nice.

But, the thing is… I really don’t want it to be awkward because keeping up a conversation with someone you don’t know partiiiiicccuuullaaaarrrllllyyy well is hard and maaaaaaa because I’m socially awkward and what kind of thing do I wear and I swear my mother thinks this is a date when it’s not but it kind of looks like it from an outsider’s point of view and she’s awkward and everything’s awkward.

Basically.

Help.

Because I want to make a good impression but not like that and aaaaarrrrggggggghhhhhhhhh do you feel me here?!

And I can’t help but feel bad because he has a girlfriend who’s always really nice to be and they’re really cute together. And I only agreed to this on a purely-friendship kind of thing, you know? But I don’t want her to see it differently…

She’s in Scotland at the moment…

I don’t even know whether she knows he’s talking to me…

Let’s call ‘him’.. um… I don’t know… Let’s call him ‘Ninja’.

Don’t ask.

MAKE ME FEEL LESS NERVOUS ABOUT THIS PLEASE.

xx

8 thoughts on “I’m… being social(ly awkward)?

  1. Well you’re going as friends right, so don’t think so much about it.
    Just be you, and just treat him how you’d treat any of your other friends…so nothing too awkward happens and if it does well he’s just a friend, you can just laugh it off..

  2. Treat him like any other person. Like you said, he has a girlfriend so he shouldn’t have any ‘dodgy agenda’ and his girlfriend is actually nice. I’m sure you’ll be fine! Have fun at the movies :]

Tell me what you think

